T.O.W 1

Describe which types of social media you currently participate in (such as blogging, podcasting, social networking, etc.), which platforms you use.

Currently I am using a few different types of social media. Obviously the first one is blogging! I’ve been blogging since spring of ’10 when I was part of Ms. Nixon’s other Comm classes. It was brand new to me so I wasn’t sure how to use it or really what its purpose was. I later found that it’s a great way to express yourself and to learn from other while also making connections. While I was in those classes I also joined Linkedin. I’m not as familiar with this form of social media but from what I’ve learned it’s a great way to make connections.

I think the two biggest forms of social networking that I use would be Twitter and Facebook. These are instant and worldwide for making connections and staying current on the things going on in the world around you. I started using Twitter in class and I’ll be honest when I started I thought it was pointless. I wondered who would ever be interested in what I had to say or follow me? Once I started really getting into it I found that it opens up a lot of potential doors and can be a great way to meet people! Facebook is probably one of the most popular forms of social media. I don’t know many people who aren’t on Facebook. Whether it’s connecting with people from high school, college, or someone in a far off country it’s a great way to stay connected! Since my senior year of high school to now I’ve been on facebook and it’s been fun to get back in touch with kids I went to elementary school with and see how my friends from back home are doing.   It’s amazing how far our world has come will all the different forms of networking and social media.

This entry was posted in COMM 4363 T.O.W. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

