Top 10 Things I Learned in Corporate PR

Wow, this year has flown by! It’s hard to imagine that we are at the very end of the semester already. My Corporate PR was a lot of fun this year. I was able to experience, learn, and participate in so much more than I would have originally thought. For the record, it was a good thing. I hope to share some of the thing I learned during class this year.

  1. What Corporate PR  is made up of multiple areas all of which are an integral part of corporate pr such as corporate responsibility, reputation management, and investor relations.
  2. Podcasts are very helpful. Podcasts keep you up to date on current events in the world as well as in pr. There is something out there for everyone’s taste, it’s just a matter of finding the right one for you.
  3. Reading other writer’s blogs is very beneficial. By reading other blogs, you are able to learn a lot about pr. It’s also a great way to make connections with other’s in the industry.
  4. PR in general is unpredictable  for the most part. After my interview with Kristin Knoll I found that there really isn’t a typical day for a pr practitioner. Things are always changing and you have to stay on your toes.
  5. It’s important to have a plan in place dealing with crisis communication and it’s also important to know what a crisis is.  A crisis is a non-routine event that risks undesired visibility that in turn threatens significant reputational damage.
  6. Based on the book, pr is facing some challenges such as globalization, the media, building trust and survival. It’s important to keep an eye on these and be aware of what’s going on.
  7. Ethics seems to be hazy for some corporations at times and what’s its actual definition is because it’s not morality,legality,etiquette, or aesthetics.
  8. Planning a campaign is difficult. We were given the task to put together a mini-campaign and there is a lot more that goes into it than what I originally expected. There is so much more that goes into researching a company and promoting a company. Sometimes you have to do it even if you don’t use the product or care for what they are doing, you still need to do your job to the best of your ability.
  9. Based on my groups Sprint Project, I learned that it’s important for companies to be honest and transparent. Also, it’s important to market to the right demographics and present your company well to the public.
  10. This last one may not apply to anyone else or even count as one, but I learned something about myself during this semester of Corporate PR. Honestly, I learned that I’m not cut out for the corporate world. Not yet anyways. I think it would be an amazing job and the work that I would be able to do would be incredible, and all the opportunities would be great; but it’s just not me. I’m so glad I took the class though because it helped me learn a lot about myself and more about the corporate pr world. I wouldn’t have changed a thing about this class and everything I learned.
This entry was posted in COMM 4363 T.O.W. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment